Do You Have A Business You Want To Advertise? Click Here Now

Hot News

Third Edition Of Our Magazine (Nigeria Nursing Times) Is Out! Download here

Upcoming Event

July 27, 2017


The CGFNS Qualifying Exam is designed specifically for first-level, general nurses educated and licensed outside the United States who wish to assess their chances of passing the U.S. registered nurse licensing exam, the NCLEX-RN® examination, and attaining licensure to practice as registered nurses within the United 

In order to obtain licensure as a nurse (RN or LPN/LVN) in the United States, it is important to note that licensure requirements differ from state to state.

Each state has unique laws and regulations for Registered Nurses (RNs). Differences are apparent between states in requirements for foreign educated nurses. Most states require that a foreign educated nurse have passed the CGFNS exam in order to apply for NCLEX exam. As best as we can determine based on a variety of sources, 42 states appear to require foreign educated nurses seeking RN licensure in their respective state to have CGFNS certification. The other eight states (Arizona, California, Maryland, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Oregon and Utah) either require some, but not all, aspects of the CGFNS program, such as a credentials review, or nothing related to CGFNS programs.

In Connecticut, an applicant for RN licensure educated in a foreign country must successfully complete the CGFNS exam prior to being accepted for examination and licensure in the state.

ArizonaAs of August 1, 2002, The Arizona Board of Nursing will accept applications from foreign educated nurses who have not completed the CGFNS exam. These nurses will only need the TOEFL or similar English exam, if their nursing education was not in English. Additionally, nurses must have their nursing program transcripts evaluated for equivalency to U. S. nursing educational standards and validation of unrestricted licensure in their country of origin.

CaliforniaCalifornia does not require CGFNS certification or require the foreign educated nurse applicant to pass the CGFNS qualifying exam. It does require that the nurse undergo a credentials review by specialists within the state licensing agency, not through CGFNS. California will review a copy of a credential certificate from another source, but the state must complete its own review of the transcript.

MarylandMaryland apparently has relatively flexible requirements relative to CGFNS certification. A course-by-course evaluation from CGFNS for foreign educated nurses is required. A CGFNS exam may be required after the Maryland Board of Nursing evaluates the applicant’s credentials.

New MexicoNew Mexico does not require CGFNS certification. It does require evaluation of nursing education credentials sent to the state board of nursing directly from a board-recognized credentialing agency or CGFNS.

New YorkNew York does not require CGFNS certification. It does require a credentials verification process by an independent organization such as CGFNS. (CGFNS certification is required for RN limited permit applicants; a limited permit authorizes the practice of registered nursing under the immediate and direct supervision of a licensed, currently registered RN, with the endorsement of the employer. )

OhioOhio does not require CGFNS certification, but does require a credentials evaluation.

OregonOregon does not require CGFNS certification, but applicants must have their credentials evaluated and prove proficiency in English.

Utah. Utah requires applicants to undergo only the CGFNS credentials evaluation. That evaluation, in turn, will determine if the nurse applicant must obtain CGFNS certification before taking the NCLEX.

Nurses who have passed the NCLEX-RN in states that do not require CGFNS may acquire the license of another state through endorsements. Each state’s Board of Nursing has its web site that lists the requirement on endorsement.

SOURCE: RA Gapuz Review Center

Do You Have A Business You Want To Advertise? Click Here Now